Spotify makes it easier to block other users

Spotify is rolling out a new feature that will allow users to more easily block others on the platform. Previously, users had to contact customer support to block someone, but now the feature is easier to find on a user profile.

To block a user, go to their Spotify profile. Under their username and photo, above their public playlists and next to the “follow” button, click the three dots menu and choose “block,” or on mobile, “block user.” Now that user won’t be able to access your listening activity, your page, or any public playlists. You also can unblock a user you’ve previously blocked at any time.

How to block a user on Spotify.
Screenshot: Spotify

“At Spotify, we’re committed to delivering the best possible listening experience to our users,” a company spokesperson said in an email to The Verge. “Privacy is something that is, and always will be, enormously important to us and our block feature, which gives users more control, is the latest step towards that commitment.”

The company introduced a “block artist” feature in 2019, but users have been asking for a way to block other users for the past several years. In 2018, BuzzFeed News did an in-depth report on Spotify users who were stalked and harassed by other users but who were unable to prevent the harassers from viewing their activity on the platform. At the time, Spotify said it was putting the introduction of a block user capability “under consideration.”

Spotify says the change should be available to users this week.

Source: The Verge

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox